Thursday, 19 March 2015

Book Boyfriends

The other week my friends brought up something that I believe most book lovers struggle with. That is the balancing act of book worlds and reality. The context of this conversation with my friends was the idea that I don't put myself out there and play the 'game' to find a guy and if i see a guy who i find jaw dropping gorgeous, I back as far away as possible.

This made me question the whole concept of book boyfriends and how it most likely has spoiled my love life for all time as no guy could possibly compete with fictional character, written to be gorgeous, funny and sensitive (sometimes arrogant).

As a student, the only places you really meet guys is out clubbing when they are drunk and horny and you see them at their worst. It is sometimes actually cringe worthy how they try to flirt with you when they are that drunk, its like they haven't crossed their evolutionary path towards common sense and when a girl wants to be left alone. Another place you meet them is through a friend which from my experience is the most awkward type as when it doesn't work out, you are left with seeing them when ever you go out with that group of friends. Never again!

And finally there is the, in my experience, the fictional meet cute with a guy during the day. The idea that you will be working in the library and the guy on the table near will ask for a pencil to start a conversation, or the guy next to you on the computer is having computer problems. But realistically, everyone is studying so much that no one pays any attention to anyone. I guess its the idea of 'work hard play hard'. But seriously, because I want to meet a guy like the characters in my book meet guys, does that fate me to a life alone? Just because I'm not attracted to drunken idiots compared to gentleman who open the door for me?

As a student, yep I'm screwed!

Doesn't help that I'm studying Costume design and Making and the only guys i meet are all gay. Not a stereotype, just reality!

I also would like to mention how authors describe these hot guys so generically as to capture a larger number of readers, only these guys are made to seem to good to be true.

For instance, describing a guy as dark haired with a square jaw, broad shoulders, blue eyes that apparently can look right through to your soul, doesn't mention that he could be 5 ft, acne everywhere (including bacne), massive nose and may even have a beer belly. The description goes from being the guy or your dream to the reality of what the world has to offer. May sound cynical, but guy wise, I'm totally screwed.

Thank You and Keep Reading

Thursday, 1 January 2015

New Year=New Books

SOOOO.... The biggest question for 2015 isn't what resolutions do you have, but what number of books have you put for your Goodreads Challenge 2015!

Happy Late Christmas everyone, did you get what you wanted? and if not, something better?!
Hopefully that's true for all. I received the perfect gift(s), not to brag or anything. However this is a book blog about books and series which I have read recently. And as the last time I posted was roughly 2 months ago, I have read a lot since then.

So the first book I'm going to mention is a book which has been on my to read list for YEARS!!!! If I'd known that it was such a good book, I would of read it so long ago that I'd probably be re reading it for the 3rd or 4th time by now. The book is called Starcrossed, by Elizabeth C. Bunce. It is one of two books in a series. Very cute. Dramatic. And Magical.

The Second Book of the same series (called Theif Errant) is Liar's Moon.


What I found so compelling about these books are the adventure and imagination of the world. The 'world' I imagined when reading these books where a combination of aristocratic Victorian England with the lavish imagery of mansions surrounded by fields, large enough to fit armies of men. However a whole other side of the books had medieval era woven into them. However Bunce brings her own output to the worlds with her cute names for police (greenmen), shocking twists like the relations of people, and a little romance.

This book is worth a read, an escape from dull life. You will escape the city on a boat with your new friend Digger, and will travel the long river to outside of the city where you will embark on espionage, sneaking around dark corridors and meeting new friends.

However if You are looking for a book soulfully for the love story. This book isn't the strongest in that department. While there are hints to a love story, this story isn't really believable. The story doesn't have much development on how Digger and the guy falls in love (wont say the name as it'll spoil it). However, even you who wants to read a girl-meets-boy book, will love this. Go out of your comfort zone and read a fantasy!

The biggest problem for the book though, is that it doesn't have a third book to the series. I felt that it needs one, more for my withdrawals for this series. Also it would have been interesting to read about the aftermath of everything that happened in the 2nd book, and stretch out the ending which was written in such a lack of detail int eh second book, probably as Bunce tried to fit everything in.

Now the second series I read was recommended to me by a person with a Google account called Rebel. I wrote a comment of a booktubers' video listing my top ten books (at the time) that I felt they'd love and Rebel commented on my comment. She had read some of the books I'd listed and loved them, and said she would read the others. That was also when she recommended my next author. I looked the author up and am slowly going through her series. (She has a lot of them). The author is Chanda Hahn! She is an unbelievably good writer, and is right now competing with Maria V. Snyder on my top ten list. probably because the series I started off with by Hahn has a similar start to the series as Snyder's Study series. Also some of the context is similar though have different names. But this did not take away anything from the series for me, and as the direction of the story went very differently, by the 3rd book your thinking, 'how is this the same?'. The Iron Butterfly is the first book, and the name of the series. The twists of the story line draws you into the world full of Denai and Septori. It makes you question who is good, bad, who your friends are, and who aren't. Read how Thalia grows with the development of her character and the emotional turmoil that she goes through. Read about villages floating up in the sky, travel on telepathic horses through the forests, talk to a wolf and learn about magic at the school. (see the tiny similarities?)


But honestly, you will kick yourself for not reading this series sooner. (like I did with Starcrossed)


See Emma Stone is event saying it! If you imagine she'd holding a book in her hands. :P


Moreover, I can't write a post without mentioning an author whose books I just reread, and is yet to write a bad book. I am in absolute awe over anything they write, and am probably most impatient for the next installment for Hollywood Hearts. R. L. Mathewson is creative with the plots, characters, context and witty phrases. Though something needs to be done with the book covers as its one of those that you definitely can't take out in public, god forbid someone browses your tablet or kindle app on your phone and sees it. Luckily some of the series have been given a basic two tone block coloured cover with just the title and author on it, but this could look as equally suspicious. I have nothing else really to say negatively about this author as if I where ever to meet them, I would probably go into shock, faint and then with their past experience of being an EMS, take me to the hospital. Bad Joke? Yeah I know.

Though as their Goodreads profile image is of the moon, I have no clue what they look like, or even what gender they are. I could walk past them on the street and never know. But I guess that is also good for Matthewson as if we crazed fans knew what she/he looked like, we probably would become a crazed mob and stalk them at the cinema. HAHA 100 points is you know where that's from! I am yet to read the new installment of Neighbors from Hell, but give me a break, it only came out 6 days ago!



Goodreads
Twitter
Facebook

Elizabeth C. Bunce
Chanda Hahn
R. L. Matthewson


Thursday, 23 October 2014

Taylor Swift Book Tag!!!!

Apologies for the late post, but The Doctor dropped me off late! I TOLD him to drop me off mid September, but instead he dropped me off in mid October!
Well, on with the blog.

As you may have guessed, i've been crazed with getting back into uni life. I also, depressingly enough haven't read in nearly a month which if probably the longest time i've not read for. But that doesn't mean I can't talk about previous book series i've read. And the way i will be doing this is with the Taylor Swift Book Tag!

I'm using the same questions as the original booktube video and adding one of Katastics extra questions

1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together - pick a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with.

For this question, I would definitely choose the Covenant series by Jennifer Armentrout. I know you are all probably going to group together and try and get at me with fires and pitchfolks, but the reason that I dislike this series, and I will say dislike is too much of a strong word, is that I grew up. I've read all the books in the series but the last. I have it, but am not desperate to read, and will probably never read it. Jennifer Armentrout is defiantly one of my favorite authors, but it was that one series of hers which I found was too similar to Richelle Meads Vampire Academy series. However I will say that it is well written and I do recommend this series to the teenagers my mum tutors with learning disabilities.


2. Red - pick a book with a RED cover.

The book that I'm picking which has a red cover is any of the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton. This series starts out as one of my favourite vampire Urban series. I actually discovered it when i was 14. Anita is this kick ass vampire executioner who can raise the dead. It was an amazing series, I loved the banter between characters and the police aspect of the books. BUT then the 'ardeur' appeared and all the books became about sex and power, not a storyline. It went from one of my ffavorite series to probably scarring me for life. So if your going to read these books, I suggest you stop once you get up to book Cerulean Sin (book 11). Possibly one or two books previous, whatever your comfortable with. But I do have to say that it was one heck of a series, damn Hamilton can write!



3. The Best Day - pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic.

A book that makes me probably feel most nostalgic is probably Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. It was the first book series I read which none of my friends had read them selves so it was a step up from the first book I read (which was Twilight). Even now I'm recalling reading the synopsis for the first time!

4. Love Story - pick a book with forbidden love.

Now I know you are going to get sick of my saying this authors name, but Richelle Mead's series Georgina Kincaid is fantastic! Forbidden love between Human and Succubus, excellent idea. A succubus who doesn't want to be a succubus, again, amazing, and lastly SHE WORKS IN A BOOK SHOP!!!!





5. I Knew You Were Trouble - pick a book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love.

Now this can be difficult to define as I am a big series reader, and sometimes you get character which are 'evil', that turn good, or the other way round. Anyway, I will say Ryu from Jane True by Nicole Peeler. He starts out kind of good, but then ends up showing his true colours and becomes a complete jerk. I haven't read the whole series yet, so sorry if you have and you discover that he is a decent guy or something, but were i am in the series he is a s***face.



6. Innocent (written b/c of Kanye West!) - pick a book that someone ruined the ending for.

Hmmm, luckily I usually read books before the kirb. I'm usually the one who accidentaly spoils the books (sorry!) But I would probably say Harry Potter, Twilight or Golden Compass as they were the books I read after my friends and they would keep on mentioning thing and I'd be like, errrrmmm, haven't read that yet :O

7. Everything Has Changed - pick a character from a book who goes through extensive character development.

Hmmm, tricky. Especially as I try to find books with mass character developement. But the book series I've just recently read which is fantastic for character developement, is Samantha Youngs, On Dubin Street series. Each of the books is one characters story, so each character goes through their journey. Great stories, great family, great characters. What else can you ask for!!!

8. You Belong With Me - pick your most anticipated book release.

Hmm, right now I can't wait for Robin LaFevers third book to come out as im in the mood for a great adventure, kickass book, but i want to discover a new series too.


9. Forever and Always - pick your favorite book couple.

Lookin at all my books, what pokes out is Ashton and Nathan from No Attachment by Tiffany King. Tiffany King is an amaing author who isn't that well know. She's only known by her super fans, if you know what I mean!!! Read Her, Love Her!!




10. Come Back, Be Here - pick the book you would least like to lend out, for fear of missing it too much.

One Word.......OUTLANDER!!!!!!!!!!!!! (By Diana Gabaldon)


11.Shake It Off-pick a book that you love so much that you shake off the haters.

hmmm, this is hard!! Im very openly critical about book I hate and enthusiastic happy about the ones I love. If any, I would say the Black Dagger Brotherhood series as people hate it as the series, like Anita Blake, turns very sexual as you go through the series. But, unlike Anita Blake, there storylines are never disturbed by these aspects. However, this series I still defo only to be read by new adult-adult.



Thank You and Keep Reading!!!

1. 1st Book of Covenant Series
2. 1st Book of Anita Blake
3. Vampire Academy
4. Georgina Kincaid
5. Jane True Series
6.N/A
7. On Dublin Street
8. 3rd Book of Grave Mercy
9. No Attachment
10. Outlander Sries
11. 1st Book of Black Dagger Brotherhood


Goodreads
Facebook
Twitter




Friday, 19 September 2014

The internet Free Weekend

I'm back in Nottingham!! New Flat! New Flat Mates and a New Bed as of 10 minutes ago.

Hello back everyone, I haven't written in ages, or it feels like that anyway. So whats been going on in my life? Well I moved back to uni last Saturday meaning the week before was chaos with packing and organising what to bring and what to leave. The hardest decision of coarse is the books, as I only have a small amount of space to put them. But I managed and I'm here!

But of course with my luck, what I found once I arrived at my new flat? Yes, the room I was moving into, the bed frame was completely broken. And me being me, a pushover and generally a nice person, I just moved into the dark depressing corner room with minimal light. I also did this as there was only one person at the office when I called the company who are our landlords as it was a weekend, and she was brand new. She became flustered when I told her, and I guess she didn't know what to do so I just said forget it. I probably should of just let her do her job then and there as I've ended up in a freezing cold dark room all week. But hey, I'm in my new room now, with a new bed!! Perfection!! (this of course has to me said with a french accent)

Another aspect of moving into a new flat, is that it didn't have broadband. I'm actually the first of my flat mates to move in as I only moved in so early to be here for the wifi installation. And of course as the landlords office isn't open on Sundays so I moved in on the Saturday, and of course me being Dyslexic, I miss read the date the Wifi installation was, (ironic huh, having a book blog and can't READ). And so instead of the installation being the Monday as I thought, it was the Tuesday. So with no Internet, hmmm what else could I of done all weekend???

Oh right! READ!!!

I read a very good selection of books this weekend I'm happy to say. Though the list start a little before the weekend with the book series I read just before moving. These where the Sabina Kane Series by Jaye Wells. I had previously read the first in the series, but I decided to re-read it before I went on the rest of the series. They are all easy reads, in my opinion, though by the 4th and 5th book, there are some very bizarre concepts.

The series surrounds a half vampire, half mage trained assassin, who was brought up looked down upon. She is taught to hate her mage side, and trained to be her Grandmothers good little assassin. Who owe yes, is a crazy royal bitch who needs a slap in the face. The series then becomes more cray when a demon is sent by a mage to kill Sabina and discovers that she can't be killed by the 'forbidden fruit' (wood from an apple tree). This than creates some questions, and the mage in question, end up coming to Sabina claiming she's the all mystical 'Chosen One'!!! It ends up becoming more and more wacky with stalker owls and secret societies and long lost family members.

This takes a classic idea of vampires and brings a whole new twist to the concept. I'm not talking the whole half breed thing as that isn't new, I've read tonnes of books with characters that are half and half, who don't fit in in either race. Just think of Jeaniene Frost's Halfway to the Grave, again with a half breed who kills vampires. What I'm talking about with the new concept, is that Wells brought in a biblical aspect which I usually hate! Just look at Philip Pullmans books, DUST! OH NO THE DUST!!! Seriously? Can't stand it!

Anyway, what I also felt with this series is that the the first book is a slow beginning but, once you get to the 2nd book its so fast that you aren't sure who you like and hate at any given time. Also I felt that the author had become a lot more confident in the concepts and branched out more in the story line than she did in book one. I sort of put each book in separate categories. The first was more like a practise run, the 2nd and 3rd where going through the motions, and then the 4th and 5th, complete mind blowing chaos (in a good way). This series with definitely be put on the re read pile as it is definitely a classic.

So after the urban fantasy fix, I then decided to go for the complete opposite. Contemporary! I just discovered from Goodread an author called Rachel Van Dyken. I didn't know much about it going into the book, The Bet. And as I had no Internet, it wasn't like I could just look it up. But I had two minds about this book. The idea wasn't very original, and I thought of a lot of similarities with other books. But as i was just looking for a very tame book just for my mind to catch up with the chaos, it was probably the perfect book to read. But as I'm practically saying that it was perfect for being a book that nothing happen in it, hen its not much of a recommendation. Also by the end of the book, I really didn't care for the characters much. Normally when I read a really good book like the book which is my next, I care for all the characters and their happiness, even if they are fictional, I wish them to have happy endings and a good life. The Bet, I felt nothing for any of the characters. They were just fiction. but again, that was exactly what I needed at the time.

Now the last and most important book...HEIR OF FIRE!!!!!!!!! Of course I can't write a post and not mention Heir of Fire. Now this was really annoying as I pre-ordered it months ago and when the time came for it to be released, they said it was out of stock and gave me  refund instead. So, I then had to wait after I moved back to Notts and get it then. This was seriously annoying as I was going to read it driving up here, instead I re read Maria V Snyders 'Touch of Power' (also a great High Fantasy Book/Series).

So What did I think of HoF? Well I now understand why everyone in the Goodread chats about HoF are all saying ROWAN!! RRRRROOOOOOWWWWAAN!! and I'm with you guys!! Though, while I'd love Rowan and Celaena to be together, I think they are going to stay as warrior and queen. Also I think Aedion will die in the next book, or Chaol will as Sarah sort of hinted that Chaol and Celaena aren't 'mates' so the only way I see her moving forward is for him to die. However I don't see her with Dorion.

Also I love that she has finally accepted her title and can't wait to see what she does with it in the next book. Now for the Manon story line. I have to confess, I couldn't follow that storyline, or maybe I just couldn't care less. I skipped most of her storyline. I'll probably go back and reread it anyway before the next book comes out, but the way I think, is that if I fall in love with her storyline too, I'll just have more characters to agonise over. So all I mostly know about her storyline from skimming the pages is that she's competing in this thing with her dragon though they are called something else that I cannot spell. She chose the worst one, and made it the best fighter, and they are on the King Adarlan's side. Did I get the just? I don't know, I'll re read it next year. Though as with Rachel Van Dykens book, I don't feel much for their character, just as I wanted it.

What I did love about this book though, was the Fae side of Celaena's heritage. I loved her training, seeing her become even more of a kick ass. Also the flashbacks, though gory and sad, also was great to see, as it showed Calaena as innocent Aelin. I loved the whole concept of the King and Dorion actually meeting Calaena before it all.  We can all expects much for Sarah Maas' next book (as always).

Now I've waisted enough of your time so I'll leave you now to enjoy your cold rainy day, oh wait that's just me :P

Thank You and Keep Reading!

1st Bk Sabina Kane Series
The Bet
Heir OF FIRE!!!!

You can also find me on:

Goodreads
Facebook
Twitter

Sunday, 24 August 2014

Update

So I haven't been very organised this month. I only posted once and it wasn't even about books :( Apologies about that!

However I thought I'd update you on some of the books I have recently read and enjoyed since the last time I did a book recommendation post.

The first book is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I watched the first episode of the new tv series outlander and fell in love with the concept, characters and the world straight away. So I then decided to get the first book in the series and read it. I haven't read the rest of the series though as for one, I don't have the books and I think I'll enjoy it more if I separate the books to the tv series. This means before each series starts on tv, i'll read the book for that series. However I'm not much of a patient person so I may just marathon them, but I've also liked reading Outlander and for the last 3 weeks seeing the chapters unfold in a visual way. If I read the whole series, i will probably forget a lot of details from the books as the books are so large and they are making the tv series the equivalent to each book, one series. So I would then end up rereading the books over and over again and I will end up sick of the story and not keep watching the tv series that I completely adore! I also like that I caught this tv show from the start so I can do this which I couldn't with Game of Thrones. For Game of thrones, I'm not going to read the books till the entire tv show is finished as I love the show so much and I know for a fact books are always better that the show.

What I also love about Outlander (tv show) is the COSTUMES!!! My heart stopped when Claire changes into the historically accurate garments. Must be the costumier inside me!

Image from the tv show 'Outlander'. Just look at the Costumes!

The next book I read, I read cautiously. I wasn't sure what to make of it because of the front cover made it seam like an erotic novel, but I was recommended it by one of my Goodreads friends and on goodreads, under the 'genre' list, there was nothing to suggest anything of the sort. The book was called 'Losing It' by Cora Carmack. Yes, even the title is bad, but I believe 'never judge a book by its cover'. So I read it and was pleasantly surprised about how well Carmack wrote, and how realsitic it was. As a university student myself, I could relate to the character (to an extent). Whilst realistic, I didn't really believing Bliss and Garricks relationship. However this may be because I couldn't relate to the idea of being attracted to my tutor, but that may be because my tutor at uni is a VERY gay, gay guy in his 60's, who is absolutely fabulous!

However, if I picture Garrick as an Ian Somerhalder lookalike, then yes! Definitely!

The next book I have had on my to-read's list on goodread's for what seams like an eternity. Its a cute YA fantasy book by Julia Golding. The Book is called 'Dragonfly' and is set in a fantasy world which are between wars and Princess Taoshira (aka Tashi) is sent from the Blue Crescent Islands to Wed the Prince of Gerfal to create an alliance. However they are both kidnapped and each side think it was the other side who did the kidnapping, though it was a third party. I completely adored this book and is the perfect book if you want to escape to another world. I was worried before I read the book that it would be one of the superficial books with little depth as it was a YA book and would just be the girl marries the prince yaddy yaddy yah.... but it wasn't just that. There were layers to the story which I enjoyed unraveling as well as seeing Tashi and the prince falling in love!



And finally......the book everyone is raving about. The long anticipated end of THE series ...'Opposition' by Jennifer Armentrout. Since reading Origin, the way they finished the book, I was seriously worried about what the last book in the series was going to be like. It could have gone disastrous, or could be spun into something incredible.

Thankfully Armentrout isn't a stranger to writing incredible books so I knew that I'd enjoy it, but she did set herself up to a difficult start of 'Opposition' by outing the Luxen. However, she did a brilliant job of finishing the series. The book was as emotionally draining as always, making us laugh from one page, to wanting to punch a certain character who is all zombified (you know who), to swooning at Daemon's arrogant jokes, to tearing up.

I can't find any bad things to mention about the book, apart from some of the parts being quite predictable, however they didn't spoil the rest of the book as its hilarity counteracts the predictability. I also loved seeing Serena and Hunter in the book, though I wish Serena and Katy interacted more as they have so much in common. Both fell in love with an alien , was hunted by the other alien species, human but in the know about aliens.

Sigh*

The number of banter and jokes that could have occurred between them...

Thank You and Keep Reading!!!

Outlander (book)
Outlander (tv show)
Losing It
Dragonfly
Opposition

Monday, 4 August 2014

London and the National Theatre

So on Saturday I spent a day in London with my mum. We started the day by making our way to the National Theater where we had a costume tour. My mum actually signed us up on a waiting list 8 months ago just to get a spot as it is such a popular tour. It was amazing! The tour started at 10 where we were taken where all the costumes where made.

The first room we went to was the wig room where all the wigs are made (as you probably could tell from the name), as well as the make up. An example of this is the blood and latex scars for the show Frankenstein that Benedict Cumberbatch started in in 2011.

In here we saw a few of the wig makers working away, intricately threading through the hair into the fine net of the wig. Watching them working, I got a better understanding of how much time and energy is taken to produce a wig. Our tour guide even mentioned that most wigs would take 40 hours to make, meaning basically a weeks work for one of the makers and that one wig will usually be done by one maker from start to finish.

Leaving that room, we were taken to the dye room where most of the breaking down of garments and fabric manipulation is done. I felt at hope there, surrounded by the designs for up coming performances on the walls and garments all at different stages of dying and breaking down. We were also shown portfolios of different fabric/ textile techniques which where used to create different effects for specific costumes. It definitely inspired me in making me want to do something creative when I got back home!

Next, we went to the room where everything that isn't a prop or costume were made. This means, hats, shoes, jewelry, accessories etc. are made. It looked like and excuse the french, but it was a costume makers wet dream. All the walls had all the tools you ever needed hanging from nails, there was a large table in the middle, shelves everywhere with threads, hat moulds, buttons, fastenings, buckles, sequins, material, etc. all in there own organised pots. Books for period dress and pattern pieces and anything a maker would need all in the corner away from all the materials. It was a beautiful room, and inspired my mum to make our ironing/sewing/book/spare/photo room into my brand new work room!!!! She has literally revamped it completely by putting all my art and textiles stuff neatly in there as well as her floristry stuff from when she took a masters floristry course. I think after the tour, my mum realized how competitive costume design is and is REALLY worried about me getting a job after university as I took the whole youngest child stereotype to heart and chose a career choice which what ever i do, will probably fail at. By making the work room, I feel it was her way of saying, don't wait till after uni, start working now! But in a nice way, i don't know how that sounds in writing, but I do mean it in a good, encouraging way.

Now after leaving that heavenly room, this was when the drama happened! Not actual drama as well we were in a theater, no, all the drama that happened was my doing :O

Now what you need to know about me, is that me and food, or should I say me and no food, is a bad combo. So in the morning, we were catching a train at 8 30, now since I've sort of got into the habit of sleeping in till 10 or 11, it was a serious shock to the system to wake up at 7 30. So jumping out of bed and rushing my make up, I ran down stairs and forced down some granola. Which I think is really unhealthy thing to do, as your body hasn't really caught up with your head and want to digest food in its own time.

Anyway, back to the tour, leaving the dye room, we then went to the costume designers, design area. it was around 10:30 and my whole body was just feeling faint. I was looking around trying to find a chair to sit on, drinking loads of water, but just felt cold. My face had a cold sweat and though this sounds really weird, and I have no clue if anyone else whose had a fainting spell has felt this, and i don't know how to describe it, but my arms felt skinny? Like there was no fat on them, or on my entire body. Sort of like my body was trying to tell my brain, your too skinny, eat something. But I was on a tour? It would of looked very strange if i took out the banana i had in my bag.

My mum was standing right next to me, and like everyone else, she was listening to the tour, not realizing how i felt. All this drama was literally happening in my head, but to everyone else, they were hearing about the amazing collection of VOGUES that NT have only for the designers use.

But I knew I had to leave that stuffy room, otherwise i'd faint, so I looked over to my mum, said I feel faint, and my mum bless her, had to raise her hand to catch the tour guides attention and say that we had to go outside. My mum and me ended up on the balcony where I sat of this garden chair and just sat breathing in and out for 5 minutes. But the tour was moving on, and we had to follow, they couldn't leave us in a room full of copyrighted costume designs could they?

So we left the balcony and followed them, me walking shakily, supporting myself whenever i could with banisters and walls, my mum following behind worried as hell that i was going to faint. We got to the production room where the tailoring and sewing is done. As it was a slow part of the year as all the costumes where in the stages being used, nothing was in production. The costumes, in there were destined for the NT costume hire company, and not for any of the theatre performances. However, theses costumes where still beautiful. There was a Great Gatsby 20's themes flapper dress, a showgirls dress and a corset partially made. The garments where beautiful, and yet obviously with my luck, I end up sitting on the floor trying not to faint.

At this point I just felt sorry for the tour guide, she was brilliant and knowledgeable about everything, but then there was me stubborn enough to want to stay on the tour, not caring about everyone else on the tour and their stares. She created an enthusiastic tour with interesting facts, but I guess I was her first fainter (or near fainter).

However after leaving that room, we left the stuffy area and after a few more drinks of water i could walk a straight line and we headed to the olivier theatre. I fould it interesting how NT had set one theatre (the olivier theatre) circular so the audience feels more included, compared to the Lyttelton theatre where the seats are straight rows so the audience feels more like observers than part of the action. This meant NT could show a lot more different types of shows, including shows more for a smaller stage with the Cottesloe stage which is where me and my mum went in the afternoon to see Hotel. It sort of reminded me of the drama hall in my secondary school. it was tiny! But i feel it was also good as the audience is right in the action that you immerse yourself into the storyline.

When we got to the stage, we headed back stage where we got to see the dressing rooms, where the sets are stored and the stage managers table where all the props are laid out.

Leaving to the Olivier theatre, we headed to the Lyttelton theatre where we sat in the audience chairs and had a Q&A with the tour guide. The play that was playing that night in that theatre was Great Britian and when we were in there, they were doing a sound check. I was kicking myself as I wasn't wearing my glasses, but in the show 'Great Britian', Billy Piper stars in it, and on the blurry stage, there was a blond hair girl who had a voice very similar to Billies! It probably wasn't here as, why would they need her for a sound check? But to make this story sound interesting, lets just say I SAW ROSE......I MEAN I SAW BILLY PIPER!! :)

After the tour ended, me and mum then went off to Subway!!! YUM and rebooted with the £3 deal and 1 1/2 cookies each, and don't forget the bananas we had in our bags! We then headed back to NT and got our £12 tickets each for Hotel. Now, we had no clue what it was about, we got the tickets as they were the cheapest, and as we had 1 and a half hours to spare, we sat down in the cafe and read the reviews on our phones. The first review I read said 'nervously humorous and terrifying'? That didn't bode well as I am a complete wimp! This also reminded me of a mention of Hotel from the morning costume tour from when we were in the wig and make up room where the tour guide told us that the set is completely white but end up red :O So after reading a few more reviews, me and my mum had no clue what to expect.

But for once I surprisingly enjoyed it. It was about a dysfunctional family who are vacationing on an island, where they are trying to get away from the world. The mum was this big political higher up who made all these decisions, and the press had discovered indecent photos of the fathers erm...well you can fill in the blanks *****, which had been put front page on all the newspapers, causing the mum to resign from her position which basically sums up the start of the play. The family, once at the island is then kidnapped in the villa by a jumpy shooter and a sadistic hypocritical crazy person. The rest of the play has a lot of politics and if you haven't guessed from my amazing description of the mums job, I have no clue about politics.

Anyway, I was a little disappointed about the amount of blood, as i was expecting huge splatters of blood everywhere. The way that everyone was describing it, I thought there would be barely any white left so I'd prepared myself for A LOT of blood. But no, there was barely 3 or 4 hand prints of blood. However the fire they made in the middle of the stage was amazing! I truly didn't think the guy would actually light the fire after she poured all the 'chemicals' on the footrest. I expected something to suddenly happen just before he lit it, but no he went and did it! I swear it was a fire hazard, but looked amazing and shocking from where i sat. I could also see that they had built a metal container so the fire wouldn't spread which shows you how well the sets and props where thought out, not only the costumes.

Which brings me to my next point. Even though it was set modern day, so not that interesting, the costumes where set out so well. the mother, a political figure so clothes smart, non patterned, a bit Margaret Thathery, however as they are on holiday, a little dressed down. This meant at the start of the holiday it was very business like, which sort of matched the act where she gets muddy, have her wearing white tailored trousers, GENIOUS. She then dresses into a casual double jersey dress with heels, so its dressy but casual. It also was a smart idea to have her wear a necklace which is then ripped off of her once they are kidnapped.

Now the dad basically wears the same thing all the time. He's the one who got everyone on holiday so worse holiday clothes from the get go. Trying to get everyone enthused about the holiday. The kids on the other hand I felt where very basic. Though in this type of play, costume isn't a major part.

So once the show ended. We went and peeked in into the festival of Love which was happening right were we where. It was adorable, they had built a temporary dance floor and couples of all ages where dancing, like proper ballroom dancing. We also went into a few shops as its my parents silver anniversary soon so my mum wanted to look for something silver for my dad. But once failing at that, we just decided that we where both tired and wanted to just get back home and have a coffee.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my day in London. If not, apologies that it wasn't a post about books, though I will mention that my attempt to force myself to read all the book I told myself i'd read for the book-tube-a-thon didn't work. I keep getting distracted by other series, so I don't see myself finishing any of those books in my near future. Instead I read Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead, which after absorbing and not writing my review whilst still high on adrenaline from finishing the book, I was a little disappointed. I think I bigged it up for my self too much so once i read it, then processed it, i was like, 'that was it?' I feel it was one of those books which has to be written for context, and to put a distance of time in a story line, than something epic. I REALLY hope that her last book in the series is longer, and i can sort of guess the plot from reading SS, and basically whats gonna happen. So I hope I'm wrong, and that Mead adds multiply twists into the next book. SS was just too straight forward till the last 2 chapters.

Also I've said before how much I love Samantha Young, but I seriously do. I just finished the 1st and 2nd book of On Dublin Street and am loving the series! I've been to Edinburgh twice so its really amazing to read a book set in an area you know so your like oh yes the royal mile, I remember be there when the Fringe Festival was there, and oh look at that, they're on George IV street, and they're now on the bridge, sigh*. Any who, this series is brilliant for New Adult, so university age people! I definitely recommend this series and hope you enjoy it as much as i did.

Thank You and Keep Reading!!!

Saturday, 26 July 2014

Would You Rather Book TAG!!

Hello again everyone!!!

Today I thought I'd do something a little different! On Youtube, there are many many different TAGS, but I LOVED this one, so I kinda tagged myself! Also as I'm from England, I had to change some aspects of it. So here it goes

1. Read only trilogies or stand alones?

Definitely a Trilogy, as  I feel you can get more character development and especially if you love a character or dystopian world, you get more of it.

2. Read only female or male authors?

This is a hard one, but I think I'd choose female as most of my favorite books are written by female authors. But that means I'd have to sacrifice George R. R. Martin, Rick Yancey and Dan Wells.

3. Shop at Waterstones or Amazon?

Well Amazon does books and kindle books so AMAZON!!

4. All books become movies or t.v. shows?

Hmmm...Well I LOVE Vampire Diaries, but I never liked the books. I love Pretty Little Liars, Game of Thrones, loved Buffy the Vampire Slayer when that was on, and loved The White Queen. They are all amazing tv shows but would they of been as good in movie form? VD definitely wouldn't of as I think the reason I love it is that it is everything the books aren't and if they made it movie form, then they would of copied the book.

Also same with True Blood, love the books, but hate the TV show :P

Now lets talk movies. Hunger Games, Twilight, A Fault in our Stars, Harry Potter, the Bond films, The Help, Forrest Gump, Gone With the Wind, One flew out of the Cuckoo's Nest, Shawshank Redemption. Would any of these be any good as tv shows? I don't think so!!!

This is so difficult!

With tv shows, you get hours and hours of the book turned into a visual representation, while with movies you only get 2 hours.

I'll have to say tv show as I'm someone who just needs more! Prolonging the world that I've fallen in love with from reading, is always better!

5. Read 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

5 BOOKS PER WEEK! No argument!!!

6. Be a professional reviewer or author?

Reviewer as I would never have the skill or patience to write a book.  Also I would love being paid to tell people how amazing my fave books are.

7. Only read your top 20 favorite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven't read before?

Ahh another difficult one. One of my guilty pleasures is to reread books over and over again, but I would choose reading only books I haven't read before as I do love discovering new fave's.

8. Be a librarian or book seller?

One other thing that I love other than reading and drawing, and Vampire Diaries, is money! So Book seller!!

9. Only read your favorite genre, or every genre except your favorite?

Hmm I can find a lot of loop holes in this one as a lot of books are under more than one genre. For instance Throne of Glass could be Fantasy, Action, Adventure or Dystopian. SO if I said every genre except my favorite (Dystopian), I could still read Throne of Glass as its Fantasy, Action and Adventure.

10. Only read physical books or eBooks?

EBooks as they are usually cheaper and I've been an ebook addict for years. But I recently started reading physical books again after I discovered my local charity shop selling books for 10p and found books I've wanted to read for ages.

But ebooks are also more convenient, especially on the go.

So what do you think?

Thank You and Keep Reading!